Find out more
The name is associated with amber mining within the area in the past.
In 1855, while working on the bottom of the Curonian Lagoon for navigation at Juodkrante, workers discovered some amber in the mud. Various entrepreneurs soon became interested in this discovery. The former miller, shipowner and later Klaipėda tavernist Vilhelmas Stantynas started the organized mining of mud from the bottom of the lagoon.
Amber excavation works were conducted only in summer - about 30 weeks a year in three shifts. Raised from the bottom of the lagoon, amber had to be cleaned, separated from impurities. From 1860 to 1890. on average, about 75 thousand kg of amber were mined per year. When amber production started to decline in 1890 excavation contract was not renewed, therefore excavation works in Juodkrantė were terminated.