Find out more
This is the only museum intended for the history of bicycles in Lithuania. It was founded in 1980 in Šiauliai bicycle and motor factory “Vairas” and in 1993, it was transferred to “Aušra” museum. The museum tells the history of one of the oldest and most popular eco-friendly means of transportation – the bicycle.
Acquaintance with the exhibition begins with the oldest bicycles, exhibited on the second floor of the museum. The museum exhibits the wooden prototype of the bicycle – “celerifere” or “the running machine,” which in 1792, was ridden by count Mede de Sivrac in Paris, pushing his feet against the ground.
The most unique exhibit is a home-made bicycle constructed in the early 19th century in Žagarė. All parts of the bicycle are home-made, forged from iron or made of wood.
One of the oldest exhibits is the child’s tricycle with red velvet-sheathed wooden saddle, forged from iron in 1905.
Visitors can also see modern bicycles and, among them, a BMX bike that once belonged to Vilma Rimšaitė - international master of sports and Šiauliai resident. The exhibition also houses sportsmen’s awards and cycling accessories.
Visitors of the museum will learn both about cyclists who represent Lithuania in international competitions, and see unusual velomobiles called the future transport. Particularly noteworthy are small filigree bicycle models produced by H. Sutkus, which were recognized to be the smallest bicycle models in Lithuania.