Find out more
Constructions of a wooden church and residence began in 1660. A four-grade school was established by the Jesuits in 1646, which was restored in 1664. The school began teaching poetics in 1666, rhetoric in 1678 and philosophy in 1725. The school had its own theatre and orchestra. In 1702, it was renamed to a college, but actually became one in 1761. It was the property of the Franciscans in 1773 and became the School of Kaunas County in 1806. Poet Adomas Mickevičius worked as a teacher in this school in 1819–1823 (an exposition of the poet was opened here).
The monastery and the church were closed after World War II; their buildings were used to establish secondary and technical schools. The Jesuit church became the property of A. Mickevičius secondary school. The roof of the church was rebuilt and its walls were re-plastered in 1957. The church was returned back to the faithful in 1990.
The church has a late Baroque style, a rectangular plan and two towers with a semi-circular apse. Its interior includes three naves.
The facade of the church facing the Town Hall Square is decorated with profiled cornices and stepped frieze strips, and divided into three tiers. Verticality and organization of interior space are reflected in the double-edged pilasters dividing the facade. The central axis of the building is marked with doors framed with double-edged pilasters and a discontinuous semi-circular cornice, above which a high segmental window is incorporated on the second tier decorated with polychrome paintings and also framed with narrow double-edged pilasters. The central vertical on the third tier is crowned by a semi-circular niche traced with a ring with a decorative key. A triangular pediment is placed on the pilasters with composite capitals, the tympanum of which is decorated with a four-leaf niche. A wrought openwork cross is the final accent of the central axis of the church.
Towers separated by corner pilasters pull away from the flat surface of the facade on the third tier. All tower tiers are decorated with niches of different shapes: the first one is decorated with rectangular doors covered in cornices and a square window niche above them; the second tier – with a semi-circular niche; the third – with a semi-circular niche at half the height of the tier and a circular blind niche above it; the narrow fourth tier – with semi-circular and circular niches covered with grills; and the fifth tier is divided into blind semi-circular niches and crowned with expressive Baroque roofs that have different wrought crosses.
Interestingly, the tapering upper tiers of the tower are supported by pilasters turned at a 45 degree angle which are raised on top of flattened volutes. The monumental appearance of the church is diversified by dancing shadows formed by the fabric of multi-edged pilasters, niches and other elements that separate flat surfaces.
The towers have an unusual plan – they are narrower in the front and create the illusion of tallness and lightness. Whereas the side edges of the towers are much wider and more massive.
From its sides, the church is framed by buildings of the monastery and the gymnasium. The first building tiers that were formerly built here are vertically divided by moderate pilasters, with tall rectangular windows situated between them. The second tiers are divided by nearly identical pilasters and rows of paired windows which are smaller than those on the first floors.