Find out more
The style of the church is of the late Baroque period. In 1992, the church and monastery ensemble became a cultural heritage object.
The style of the church is of the late Baroque period, with a Greek cross plan and a sacristy. It differs from other Lithuanian and European Dominican churches in the fact that the monks of this order usually built single-nave hall churches or basilicas with three naves. The church has a dome, its main facade is framed with two low-rise, square plan, two-storey towers, with a triangular pediment. The corners of the facade are highlighted by paired pilasters.
The church was built as a mausoleum for the Kosila family and the Dominicans. Its burial dungeons remain to this day.
The wooden bell tower of the church and monastery ensemble is attributed to Historicism. It was built in 1881–1884 by local artist Ignas Zdanavičius. The project and estimate of the building were made by Seinai county engineer-architect Lipskis. The bell tower has a square plan, with two floors and a low-rise base. The bell hangs on the second floor which can be reached by taking the wooden stairs leading to it. The roof of the bell tower has four slopes with four pediments.
The two-storey monastery building has a T shaped plan. The church and the monastery building are connected with a narrow corridor.
The former barn building has two floors, a rectangular plan and Baroque features. The entrance can be found on the south side, at the centre of the facade. On the right side of the building, the first floor is elevated, because the basement has a boiler room whose chimney protrudes on the right side of the roof.
The interior of the church includes authentic benches with wood inlays that are more than 250 years old, as well as altars from the Baroque and Rococo period, and many art monuments from the 17th-20th century. Under the church decorated with historically valuable paintings and wall art, there is a remaining burial vault for monks which, as told by the guide, was built with the thought that monks will rest here eternally after their deaths.
7 decorative altars are installed in the church. The church organ built by an artist from Warsaw Šimanskis in 1899 to honour the visitation of bishop Antanas Baranauskas remains to this day. The organ was played by Konstantinas Čiurlionis (1851–1914), father of the well-known artist and composer M. K. Čiurlionis.
The churchyard is walled and has a wooden statue of St. Agatha on a pillar in front of the church. It is said that this statue grants protection from wounds and fires, because a lightning struck the dome of the church and burned its roof in 1808.
In 1996, with the efforts of canon Valius Zubavičius, the old 19th century St. Agatha statue was relocated to the church, and a copy made by Alfonsas Vaura was installed in its place.
In 1999, part of the ensemble was transferred to the public organization Liškiava Cultural Centre which implements tourism, cultural and art development programmes.