Find out more
Ignotas Oginskis (1698–1775) palace building complex is protected by the state. It is significant from an archaeological, architectural, artistic, historical and urban point of view. The buildings of the palace near Rūdninkų str. were formed in 1768–1771. Brick houses were already standing in this place in the Gothic era. Their cellars remain to this day.
When a military fortress was being built in Vilnius in 1831, it was not able to house all the military services in one area. Tsarist administration confiscated several palace ensembles. The debt-ridden Oginskis Palace was nationalized. In 1837, the ensemble was redesigned to Vilnius Division headquarters. A three-storey building was built in the spacious courtyard dividing it into two parts. After the reconstructions in 1840, the former Oginskis Palace was used by several institutions: Recruitment Commission, State House of Wealth, Vilnius County Court, Noblemen Community headquarters and office. Apartments were rented in the palace wings located at Rūdninkų str. The ensemble was reconstructed once again at the end of the 19th century. The premises were then re-planned, arched galleries and part of the facade niches on the first floor were bricked up, and outbuildings were raised. Part of the premises of the palace were used for apartment rent. The premises became smaller after reconstructions. In 1833–1902, premises in the house located at Rūdininkų str. were leased by a printing house owner Samuilas Bliumovičius, and later by his son Isakas.
After World War I, there was a gymnasium in the wing of the palace at Arklių str. During the years of World War II, the entire palace complex became part of the Great Jewish Ghetto. During the seventh decade of the 20th century, a proposal project for the regeneration of the entire 54th block was prepared. Decorative niches were uncovered in the facade of the street which brought back forms transitioning from Baroque to Classicism. The arched gallery of the courtyard was restored. The Gothic cellars of the building were restored and vaults were reinforced. The wing that was built in 1837 and separates the courtyard into two parts was restored and adapted for the functions of the Centre for the Restoration and Conservation of Valuable Museum Items which was named after Pranas Gudynas in 1980.
- Morta Baužienė, www.autc.lt