Find out more
The first church was mentioned in 1526. It is believed that, at the end of the 16th century, the church belonged to evangelical reformers, because the owner of Onuškis farmstead returned it to the Catholics in 1611. The church burned down in 1655. In 1673, a parsonage and a new shelter were established. The church was rebuilt after 1674.
It was very old and deteriorated in 1797, was slightly repaired in 1820 and collapsed in 1823. In its place, the current brick and stone masonry church was built in 1823–1829 under the care of landlord K. Šetkevičius. The locals asked for Lithuanian services, however, in 1832, a commission appointed by the bishop determined that parishioners speak in Lithuanian at home, but pray in Polish, thus they do not need Lithuanian services. They were only partially held from 1893. At the beginning of the 20th century, for a while, the church had an organist Kipras Petrauskas.
Kazimieras Čibas was the pastor of the church in 1927–1939. He took care of the sobriety of parishioners, religious and cultural progress, as well as managed the farm of the parish. Nikodemas Švogžlys-Milžinas was the pastor of the church in 1939–1953.
The church is of the late Classicism period with features of Romanticism, with a hall style and a rectangular plan with a portico of six Doric columns. Its interior is comprised of three naves. The cylindrical vaults are supported by 4 pairs of columns. The churchyard is surrounded by a fence of stone masonry and brick columns. There is also an old stone paved square near the church which was once used to hold markets. This place is still used for autumn fairs, concerts and other community events.