Find out more
It is also possible that the name originates from the fact that this area was once remote, difficult to access, swampy and overgrown with forests – it was a true misery to live here. In older times, guilty serfs were brought to this valley of river Minija to be flogged – such was their repentance. This is how the name of the village is explained by the locals.
The Church of St. Anthony of Padua and the Reconciliation Homestead established by the Franciscan community can also be found in this village. The Mass held on Sundays attracts quite a few people.
The pastor of Plungė Povilas Pukys used his own funds to build the current Pakutuvėnai Church in 1941–1943. It was consecrated by bishop Vincentas Borisevičius in September of 1943. During the constructions, services were held in Pakutuvėnai cemetery chapel.
The church has Classical features, a rectangular plan (22 × 12 m), a large and a small tower. Three altars were installed in the church. Only one altar remains after the reconstruction, and the deteriorated churchyard fence was also dismantled.
This church is managed by the Franciscan brothers. As of 1995, this place is used by the Therapeutic Community for People with Addictions.