Find out more
There is also something to be admired inside: an impressive pulpit and three skilfully made marble altars decorated with bas-reliefs brought from France. The central altar bears the image of Mary Mother of God mentioned as early as in the 17th century. The other two wooden altars situated in the side naves were brought from the former wooden church.
In 1897, constructions of a new neo-Gothic church designed by Swedish architect Karl Eduard Strandmann were initiated next to the old wooden church. A third of the cost of these construction works were funded by count Feliksas Tiškevičius, while the other funds were provided by parishioners guided by parson Juozapas Šniukšta.
It is believed that there was a chapel on Birutė Hill in the 16th century. In accordance with the Article of the digest of the Russian law which states that permission from the government is not required to rebuild churches and chapels, at the beginning of 1866, the consistory of Samogitian Diocese sent a project of a brick chapel to the parson of Palanga Steponavičius and ordered to build it on Birutė Hill. A court order was issued to demolish the nearly built chapel in 1866. The locals protested against this, thus the chapel was preserved and remains to this day. The long-time parson of Palanga Jonas Ilskis (1907–1985) was arrested after World War II and exiled. He returned to Lithuania in 1956.
The church has a neo-Gothic style, a cross plan and one tower. The fence of the churchyard is made of stone and bricks. Graves of Palanga parson-monsignor Bronius Barauskas (1908–1985), member of the diocesan tribunal, Palanga parson and dean Juozapas Miklovas (1919–1991), as well as public figure and priest Kazimieras Prapuolenis (1858–1933) can be found in the cemetery of the churchyard.