Find out more
The church of Plungė is one of the largest churches in Lithuania with a length of 75 m and an eclectic style. Its neo-Gothic architecture has a Romanesque cohesive system plan and details imitating the Romanesque style. This church is sometimes described as pseudo-Romanesque and is one of the most significant examples of neo-Romanesque architecture in Lithuania.
The church has a Latin cross plan, two towers, three naves, and basilica style. The high middle part in the east, decorated with a triangular shield with niches in the shape of arches, is framed from both sides by two slightly protruding towers with a square plan and sharp peaks. On the western side, the building ends with a narrower, semi-circular apse with the same triangular shield on the top and two small towers on its sides.
A Classical bell tower stands on the south-eastern corner of the church building complex, right next to the churchyard fence at the curve of Vytauto str. It has even proportions and strict forms, diversifying the architectural expression of the complex. The facade of the bell tower includes the coat of arms of Zubovai family counts with the inscription "Istejgi Jo milesta Grati Zubows su padiejemu parapijonu – metusi 1850".
In 1570, funds were received for the construction of the church of Plungė. In 1590, the church was transferred to the evangelical reformers. In 1617, a Catholic church was built and a parish school was established.
A new wooden church was built in 1797. Construction materials were provided by Plungė Manor. In 1810, it was consecrated by bishop Juozapas Arnulfas Giedraitis. He transferred to the church the supposedly miraculous sculpture of the Blessed Virgin Mary which was previously standing on the road to Žarėnai. The church was relatively large and continuously decorated. It was mentioned in the letters of the Lithuanian educator and writer Motiejus Valančius as well maintained, painted and surrounded by a stone fence.
In 1850, Zubovai family counts built a bell tower with 3 bells, of which only one remains to this day. It was made in 1646, but was damaged during a fire in 1812, thus it is no longer used. The other two bells were removed and taken away by German soldiers during World War I.
The wooden church that stood for around 137 years was demolished in 1934, when the new church was already standing nearby. Constructions of the new church were initiated in 1899. Its chosen location was next to the wooden church built in 1797 and its brick bell tower. The foundation of the new church was consecrated on 5 September 1905 by bishop Mečislovas Paliulionis. The current brick church was built in 1902–1933. Its interior was being built up until 1940.
Part of protected cultural objects: valuable paintings of saints, old stations, altars, candlesticks and some interior details were transferred from the old church demolished in 1934 and Capuchin monastery church.