Find out more
The Plungė manor and park ensemble is located in the town of Plungė. The Samogitian Museum of Arts is currently established in the manor. The estate includes the remaining manor building ensemble and park, a neo-Gothic horse barn and stables, as well as an ancient folk art exhibit which was established in 1982.
Plungė manor has been mentioned since 1565. The owners of the manor were constantly changing: from 1570, when Plungė eldership was given to Mykolas Aleknavičius by Žygimantas Augustas, the manor was managed by Valavičiai, Karpiai and Krispinai-Kiršenšteinai families. At the end of the 18th century, the manor estate ensemble was managed by bishop of Vilnius Ignotas Masalskis. After the bishop was killed in 1794, his brother's daughter Elena Apolonija Masalskytė-de Linjė and her second husband count Vincentas Potockis inherited all of his estates. Finally, in 1806, the manor estate was bought by count Platonas Zubovas, and in 1873 it was sold to Mykolas Oginskis.
In 1879, Oginskiai family built a majestic, neo-Renaissance style palace here. The interior of the palace was built in 1882–1885. It was decorated by masters of Kazimieras Someris Stucco Workshop from Warsaw. The interior was adorned with moulding, painting panels, ornate furnaces and collector's furniture. It was the residential palace of Oginskiai family manor estate. In 1873–1902, there was a music school in the manor. It was also attended by Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis. There were horse stables and a stud farm breeding Žemaitukas horses within the manor estate. An agricultural and crafts exhibition was organized in 1899.
In 1994, the Samogitian Museum of Arts was established in the palace which collects and displays valuable museum items reflecting the cultural and historical diversity of the Samogitia region, as well as preserves and upholds the traditions of Mykolas Oginskis manor estate.
Plungė is known for its Oginskiai family park. The Thunder Oak grows here. It is said that, in pagan times, a sacred fire was built next to this tree by priestess Galinda. One day, her beloved rode off to defend his homeland from the Crusaders and did not return. Galinda kept on weeping until a priest approached the grief-stricken priestess and told her not to cry, because only the sacred fire can quench earthly love. One time, when Galinda was weeping under a broad oak tree, it was suddenly struck by lightning. The oak shook and some soil dropped inside its trunk which soon produced a particularly beautiful flower. From that day, people started calling this tree the Thunder Oak.
It is believed that the park was established in the middle of the 18th century. By using the Babrungas River and the surrounding springs, a system of seven ponds was formed within the park. A round pool was excavated in front of the palace. There was a small island with a sculpture in the middle of the pool. The park had many exotic trees and shrubs, alleys of linden, ash and hornbeam trees, recreational gazebos shaped as mushrooms and as other forms, as well as many sculptures and vases.
The central part of the park covers a high, even terrace and has a geometric plan. The other part has a landscape park which includes the Babrungas River loop and two sinks – eastern and western. The latter has four ponds, while the eastern has three. The main alley starts at the gates on the south-eastern outskirts, and ends at the palace. There is a spacious terrace at the palace which overlooks views of the park and the river itself. Today, the park is dominated by local trees and shrubs: ashes, maples, small-leaved lime trees, etc.