Find out more
The church is an architectural monument and was added to the Register of Cultural Heritage in 1992. The church building complex includes a parsonage built at the end of the 18th century, and a parish house dating back to 1889.
It is believed that Rusnė parish was established when it was still under the rule of the Crusaders – in 1419. After the Battle of Grunwald, life here became slightly calmer. Little is known about the very first church of this area. It was rebuilt, perhaps even expanded in 1642 with the funds of the parishioners. The house of worship was devastated by several fires. In 1739, fire destroyed the parsonage and the parish chest in it. Both the church and the parsonage burned once again in 1774. Only the bible was saved, however metrics records and other act books were destroyed. A temporary house of worship was built, but it was destroyed by fire in 1789. The house of the priest also burned down.
A new brick church was consecrated in 1809. An octagonal confirmee hall was added on the eastern side, as well as a massive tower on the western side which was built in 1827. Its height was increased by a pyramid-shaped tapering roof with a rather massive cross on the top. The church has an extended rectangular form (29x11 m), one nave with an octagonal apse and a square bell tower. Facade walls are supported by stepped abutments of plastered brickwork.
The altar and pulpit are joined together, both whitish in colour and gilded. There was a valuable candle chandelier of the old church hanging in the middle of the building, as well as a crucifix of the beginning of the 16th century. The years 1637 and 1776 are embossed on the sacred vessels. Altar covers were embroidered with Lithuanian national patterns, with the Saviour's silhouette. The organ of the church acquired in 1827 had 11 registers. It was decorated with Baroque elements. The church had two bells acquired in 1783.
After the Restoration of Independence, repairs of the church that was returned back to the Lutheran believers began in 1991. Services were once again held by priest and deacon Gintaras Pareigis. In 1994, the 575th anniversary of the parish was commemorated by Rusnė parishioners community comprised of 150 people. On this occasion, a new bell was hung, the church organ was once again played, and a new altar was consecrated.
In addition to church services, the premises of the church were also used for the needs of all the locals of Rusnė. The largest events of the town were organized here, including the "Muzikuojanti Rusnė" festival, boatmen festival and Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony, as well as various exhibitions, and voluntary activities for youth and seniors.