Find out more
In 1624, the church was given to the Benedictine Sisters under the care of Kaunas marshal Andrius Skorulskis. The church was repaired prior to 1627 and a wooden monastery was built. The latter was provided with lands in Kaunas. 22 nuns lived here in 1782.
In 1812, silver liturgical accessories, clothing and other items were removed from the church and the monastery was damaged. A brick monastery was built in around 1822–1829. In 1831, the nuns established a small parish school. In 1834, a covered brick gallery was built in order to join the monastery and church buildings together. In 1842, lands of the monastery were expropriated by the Tsarist government. The nuns were paid wages by the government. At the end of the 19th century, new members were not allowed to join the monastery, therefore new nuns were accepted secretly by using the surnames of other already deceased nuns.
In 1903, out of the 12 nuns that lived here, the oldest one was 93 and the youngest one was 65 years old. New members were once again allowed to join the monastery as of 1905. During the establishment of independent Lithuania, the abbess of the monastery would not allow Lithuanian sisters to talk in their native language and read Lithuanian literature. The coat of arms of Poland were placed above the altar in 1919. In 1924, 10 Polish nuns were transferred to Kolainiai. During the interwar period, the nuns sustained a student dormitory, shelter and kindergarten. In 1938, they also organized sewing lessons and had a church garment workshop.
Both the church and the monastery were closed down in 1948. The church was converted into a book warehouse, while the monastery was partly restored and reconstructed in 1961–1968 and converted into a dormitory. The bells of the church were removed in 1973, and its books were taken away in 1989. In 1990, the church was repaired and returned to the faithful.
The church has a Gothic style, a complex plan, one tower and a single nave. The churchyard is surrounded by a brick fence.