Find out more
This sacral complex in Telšiai has a special value due to its prominence in the city's panorama, its rich history, its significance to the spiritual culture of the land, and due to its status of a valuable architectural and art monument.
Telšiai Bernardine Monastery was established in 1624. It was built by the Grand Duke of Lithuania and King of Poland Žygimantas III Vaza (Sigismund III Vasa) (1587–1632), and later by the Vice-Chancellor of the GDL, the elder of Telšiai Povilas Sapiega (1565–1635). Wooden buildings of the monastery and the church were built in the area in 1650. Loreto house, or the so-called Loreto Chapel, was built during the same year. Constructions of the brick monastery building which began at the end of the 17th century continued from 1702. Constructions of a brick church began in 1761. Constructions of the complex continued on and off until 1791. Altars and pulpit of the late Baroque period style were added in 1794.
The church of the complex has a rectangular plan with a three-sided apse, volume of a hall, single nave, two floors and a wide gallery around it. This impressive gallery makes it unique and original even compared to other European churches. The building with its span roof, slender proportions and a single tower above the south-eastern facade has become somewhat of a symbol of Telšiai.