Find out more
An orthodox church was built in 1897 which was converted to a regular church in 1919 and consecrated in 1920. Attempts were made to hold services only in Polish. This resulted in riots, as Lithuanians demanded church services in their native language. Services were no longer held at the beginning of 1924. In 1929, a parish was established, and in 1933 the church was rebuilt and expanded. In 1936, branches and reading rooms of St. Casimir’s Society were closed. The church was repaired in 1967 under the care of pastor Kazimieras Gailius.
It has features of folk architecture, a cross-plan, single tower, three-sided apse and an entryway. The churchyard has a wooden fence.
In 1893, an Orthodox church was built in Varėna II railway station village. After the Orthodox went back to Russia, their church building was jointly bought for 252 000 marks by the residents of the surrounding villages, who then restructured the Orthodox church into a regular church and consecrated it in 1920. Later, during the Polish occupation, attempts were made to hold services only in Polish, however Lithuanians persistently demanded for church services to be held in their native language.
The church also has features of folk architecture.