Find out more
The church has a Renaissance style with Gothic features, brick walls, rectangular plan and a hall design. It includes a semi-circular apse, a two-storey sacristy and a square tower. The interior is vaulted, with 3 naves and 7 altars. The churchyard is surrounded by a brick fence. It is an architectural and sacred monument protected by the state. A monument of Vytautas stands in front of the church.
An organ made by a well-known Lithuanian organ builder Jonas Garalevičius is installed in the church.
The parish itself is famous for its feast of the Assumption.
The parish of Veliuona was established in 1421 by the Grand Duke of Lithuania Vytautas. A parish school was mentioned in 1579. At around 1592–1597, Veliuona did not have a priest. At the time, beneficial land was taken away from the church. The size of both the church and the parish was increased in 1616.
In 1636-1644, a new brick church was built by Albrechtas Stanislovas Radvila. It received 10 000 auksinas (ancient Lithuanian currency, derived from the word auksas meaning gold) from K. Chšenavičius in 1686. A newly established parish school was also mentioned in 1703.
In 1841, there were 3 priests living in Veliuona, and the parish had 50 voloks of land. In around 1860, bishop Motiejus Valančius managed to achieve almost complete sobriety within the parish. In 1864–1870, Antanas Juška-Juškevičius was the vicar of the parish. He accumulated a vast collection of folk songs, part of which were printed in his book "Svotbinė rėdą veliuoniečių lietuvių" in 1870. A church choir was formed in 1885.
A church vestibule was added in 1887, and the side doors of the church were bricked in. The church was damaged during World War I, but was later repaired by parson Z. Polonskis. A wooden part of the tower was added during the same period, and a parish hall was built in 1937.
Repairs of the church were carried out in 2014–2016 during which the foundation and facades of the building were restored by preserving its authentic structures and style. Exterior doors, facade brickwork and plaster finish of the church were restored. Its facades were repainted. A small sculpture of the Blessed Virgin Mary was restored in the niche of the main facade and a cross was restored in the eastern facade. The paving of the churchyard and its main gates were fixed. A restoration plaster (salt "absorbing") system was installed inside the church.