Find out more
The Palace of Petras Vileišis is a modern, neo-Baroque structure with one of the highest artistic values in Lithuania, the constructions of which were initiated in 1904–1906 by engineer and public figure Petras Vileišis, and the design of which was created by engineer A. Kleinas. The palace was used as a living space until the Lithuanian Science Society was established here in 1931, as well as the Institute of the Academy of Sciences in 1941.
The palace has two floors with a basement and attic. The building has an almost square design, brick walls and reinforced concrete overlays. Stones for the foundation were brought from Finland. The roof has three domes: higher lateral ones with decorative towers, and a middle lower one which is flattened. It is covered with ribbed tin which was replaced in some areas with even galvanized tin in 1956. There are decorative metal chimneys between the domes. The main facade faces Antakalnio street. Its overhangs on the sides have pilasters with composite order capitals. The interior is ornate with elements typical to the modern style. Stair railings have a neo-Baroque style. There are 13 Dutch furnaces inside, and the ceiling is decorated with moulding. The remaining chandelier was made from steel and faience in P. Vileišis metalwork company "Vilija", just like the gate that is decorated with neo-Baroque ornaments.
The residential house is a three-storey building made from bricks and reinforced concrete structures with neo-Baroque and neo-Empire features. The building's floor layouts are rectangular, of a corridor system, and asymmetrical. The interior had decorative elements typical to Neoclassicism, while the exterior had an ornate and even artistic architectural composition. The house was designed for renting apartments, however it also had a cultural function.
The outbuilding plan was designed in the corner of the territory. Even though premises are arranged in a single row, the western part of the building has only one floor, while the eastern has two. The single-storey part of the building was decorated with a pediment and a stepped roof covered with red tiles. The entire building ensemble is surrounded by a half-steel and half-yellow brick fence with a gate. Some gate posts are decorated with decorative rings and ornaments typical to the neo-Baroque period – stairs, rings and volutes.
Currently, the Institute of Lithuanian Literature and Folklore is established in Petras Vileišis Palace.
One of the buildings of the palace was turned into a giant storage room after restoration. It holds tens of thousands of Lithuanian folk songs, tales and various legends. Some archival material is several hundred years old. Vileišis Palace is the first residence of the Lithuanian national movement in Vilnius, as well as a memorial site.Sources: