Find out more
Funding of the church was increased either in 1511 or 1512, and was also used to support the Lithuanian speaking priest and teacher. During the Reformation, the church became the property of the Protestants. Radvila family annexed these lands to their estate in 1609 and 1616. In 1621, the tithe assigned to the parson of Žiežmariai Manor was replaced with two additionally gifted villages, while the previously taken lands and inns were returned.
Sources indicate that the church burned down in 1621, however it was rebuilt in another location. In 1655, the church burned down once again. Parish metric books from 1665 remain to this day. In 1672, a new wooden church was built. Religious brotherhoods were established in 1702 and in around 1760. The church suffered from the Swedish army in 1702, but was repaired in 1707. Sources from 1740 indicate that the church had a Latin cross plan with 2 towers and a dome. However, this church was soon lost to fire, and was rebuilt in 1744. A new wooden parsonage was built in 1770, a bell tower in 1777, and a shelter in 1782. In 1777, the parish school was restored. In 1883–1901, pastor Eustachijus Jeleniauskas ignored the Lithuanian language in the church. The church was rebuilt in 1895–1896 under the care and with the funds of parishioners; two new altars were added.
The project of a brick church was approved in 1909. In 1912, the division of Lithuanian Catholic Temperance Society was established (managed by priest Justinas Aukštuolis), along with a library – reading room. In 1914, constructions of a new church began in its place. Its brick walls were built until 1915. In 1922–1924, the constructions and funds of the church were managed by Parson Juozas Balčiūnas, ant later – Prelate Bernardas Sužiedėlis. The faithful moved to the new church in 1924 without waiting for the end of its constructions. The church should have included two towers, however there were enough funds for only one tower which was finished in 1929. Lithuanian language was brought back to the church by priest Stasys Šlamas (end of the 19th century). He also distributed Lithuanian press. In 2009, permission was granted by the Government to finish the constructions of the second tower.
The church itself has a neo-Gothic style, a cross plan, and was supposed to have two towers according to its plan. The fence of the churchyard is masonry.